The Wounds of God (#2)

Author(s): Penelope Wilcock

Historical Fiction

14th century Yorkshire: the time of Chaucer. Has Peregrine been broken? Injured in an attack by old adversaries, Father Peregrine transforms from a steely, articulate, impressive leader into a humbled, crippled, wise mentor. Relying on the kindness of his fellow monks, the fiercely independent, hawkish abbot begins to regain his feet. But he faces a fresh challenge. The Augustinian Priory of St Dunstan lies three days' ride to the southwest, the domain of Prior William, whose calculating self-interest makes enemies everywhere. When he and Peregrine cross swords over a matter of justice masked as doctrine, will ruthlessness triumph over integrity?


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"Even in the darkest moments of the story, hope tarries in the wings. A wonderful writer, a wonderful read." Liz Curtis Higgs, New York Times bestselling author "These tender and charming tales of medieval monastic life have an unexpectedly modern dimension. They highlight the struggles of the human condition both in the present and in the past. They illuminate that all humankind, whether aware of it or not, is on a pilgrimage. Through these stories we accompany Father Peregrine and his monks on their journey as they struggle to overcome their personal defects and to live harmoniously in community for the glory of God." Eleanor Stewart, author, Kicking the Habit "Poignant, moving, rich with imagery and emotion... Modern readers will easily identify with each character in Wilcock's timeless human dramas of people learning to love and serve on another while growing in their understanding of a tender and compassionate God. Highly recommended." Midwest Book Review "Wonderfully insightful, with a rich historical storyline. There's more substantial content here than in much Christian fiction - about grace, about leadership and loyalty, about humility, about disability and suffering." "I fell in love with Penelope Wilcock's Hawk and the Dove series when it first came out. These books are still among my favourites and, incredibly, the series keeps getting better and better. What a delight a first time reader of the series has ahead of them!" Donna Fletcher Crow, author, Glastonbury: The Novel of Christian England "This masterful look into a bygone era reminds us that Christians of every age have faced the same basic struggles: how to worship God in spirit and truth, and to love our neighbours as ourselves. Many thanks to Penelope Wilcock for showing us, through the power of literature, an old way to new life." Bryan M. Litfin, Professor of Theology, Moody Bible Institute "Penelope Wilcock has created a wonderful cast of characters to fill the marvellously accurate fourteenth-century monastery in her medieval series. For the lover of medieval mysteries this is a series not to be missed." Mel Starr, author, The Unquiet Bones

Pen Wilcock is the author of many books such as In Celebration of Simplicity and 100 Stand-Alone Bible Studies. For many years a Methodist minister, she has worked as a hospice and school chaplain. She has five adult daughters and lives in Hastings, East Sussex.

General Fields

  • : 9781782641414
  • : Lion Hudson Plc
  • : Lion Fiction
  • : February 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 192
  • : Penelope Wilcock